Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 51

    Day 51: Screaming or Horny Peacock?

    April 16 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 82 °F

    The ear infection is still here, but not as raging as it was. I'm focusing now on how to make the truckers see me.

    I had a couple of close calls these past few days with semis pulling into me or just in front of me. Long, sordid, exaggerated story cut to the solution: For two days I've been daytime driving with my brights on, which I think is making a difference. Now I need a horn that is as many decibels as legally possible and sounds like a crowd of people screaming for their lives. Or like a male peacock with a hard-on. If you know where I can buy that, please post 🤣. Seriously though.

    Rewind a bit. After I saw the doc and got the drops for my ear and immediately applied, I made it down to South Padre Island and the third stop on my Lap of the 48. Everyone stops at the sign just after the bridge, sort of like the Las Vegas sign, but if you want a great pic, hang a left, go to the water tower and take your time.

    I pushed through Brownsville over to McAllen and decided to stay at one of my favorite places, the Casa de Palmas. Bike friendly, beautiful grounds, luxurious rooms...all for a medium-priced hotel. Breakfast included. It's only close to anywhere if you're at the bottom of Texas, but if you are, stay there! https://maps.app.goo.gl/NtwgVzdwGgKmMgXW7

    I left there well rested by the plush mattress and calmly soothed by the sound of the fountain by the pool. Then I had to deal with the trucks again, the trucks coming north from Mexico through the Laredo port where I-35 begins in the US. By the time I got to Pecos, I could've stopped in the middle of the highway, walked up to the truck behind me, and slit the throat of the driver.

    Huh. That's a bit harsh. Let me rephrase. Thinking....

    Thinking....

    Nope. That sums it up just right. They would rather kill someone than take their foot off the gas for half a second. Ok. Got it.

    Sorry. Back to the story...

    I spent the night in Pecos, made it to Hobbs, NM, for a pic, and am now in Seagraves, TX, at another of my favorite hotels, The Hotel Texan (https://maps.app.goo.gl/XN1bypb9kNRHMU4u7).

    Begun in 1917, this historic hotel has so much character, and I just love it. The wood floor boards squeak. The antique furniture doesn't match. The owner/operator Gareth plays black and white movies in the sitting room (aka lobby). The cat waits to be let in. And I have just discovered a wonderful covered patio garden area with a fountain, BBQ grills, tables with umbrellas, and corn hole. Wait, there's more! To top it all off, the local bakery provides fresh banana bread for breakfast. Definitely make this a stop on your travels!!

    So long [for now]... ✌️
    Read more