Satellit
Auf Karte anzeigen
  • Tag 68

    Florida, Georgia, Kentucky! Oh my!

    3. Mai in den USA ⋅ ☁️ 88 °F

    As much as I hate driving/riding to Key West because of the traffic, once I get there I never want to leave. But I did.

    From Saturday the 27th to Monday the 29th, I squiggled my way up the eastern side of Florida, finally reaching my friend's house in southern Georgia on Monday evening. She promptly put me to work LOL.

    Tuesday we began laying a paving stone sidewalk between her carport and back porch. Unfortunately, a torrential downpour made us call it quits earlier than we had planned, but we finished up on Wednesday. She seems pretty happy with it, and I'm pleased that I could help.

    I left her place yesterday, squiggling to my stops around Atlanta (ugh) and finding a cheap hotel in Cookeville for the night.

    Well, it would have been cheap if they hadn't stolen my $50 cash deposit. Don't ever stay at Suburban Studios Cookeville, 1814 Salem Rd, Cookeville, TN 38506. It may be a Choice Brand hotel, but it is not choice. When I checked in at just before midnight, the cash deposit requirement made an alarm go off in my head, but I was so tired that I didn't pay it any attention. When I went to check out at 0530, I found a note on the window saying they didn't open until 0730, but to call if you needed help. I called. No one could give me my deposit until someone came to work at 0800. I couldn't sit around for almost 3 hours (because you know they wouldn't be on time), so I videoed the state of the room and left. I filed a complaint with Choice about the practice. We'll see what happens. Fuckers (grr).

    Anyway, I was in torrential rain all day long today and completely soaked and chilled to the bone by the time I arrived in Wilder, KY about 1400. But, I have checked in early at my normal hotel, have unloaded the bike, and have taken a hot bath. Now for a beer and a kick back on the sofa as I let the rest of today wash over me and out of my life. Zen ohm.

    So long [for now], and thanks for all the fish! ✌️

    Here are my stats through 30 April:

    HD Dealership Challenge: - (total 153)
    RTE-X-USA: - points (April: 42 pts; 2QTD: 42 pts; YTD: 79 pts)
    MCGTTX 2024 Stops: - (total 28 of 50)
    10 Rides for 2024: - (total 2 of 10)
    IBA Lap Around the 48 Stops: - (total 4 of 9)
    PNW GT Stops: 0 (total 0 of 30)

    Tour of Honor Stops:
    - State Memorials: 0 (total 39; completed LA, MS, FL)
    - 9/11 Memorials: 0 (total 67 of 50) COMPLETE
    - K9 Memorials: 0 (total 38 of 50)
    - Doughboy Memorials: 0 (total 23 of 50)
    - Gold Star Family Memorials: 0 (total 22 of 50)
    - Hueys: 0 (total 34 of 50)
    - Madonna of the Trail Stops : 0 (total 1 of 12)
    - Veteran Cemeteries: 0 (total 18 of 50)
    Weiterlesen