Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    The night before

    April 6 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 17 °C

    I’ve made up my mind.

    I start tomorrow. Just to Matosinhos. That way I can identify if there’s any pressure points that may feet may need tending too, and prep accordingly.

    I decided I wanted to leave Porto as a bonafide Pilgrim. So I chose to stay at the city’s official pilgrim albergue.

    Check in was 2pm. And here’s the first change I’m feeling, since being here. The slowing down.

    The deliberate waiting - with nothing pressing to do - is an odd and unnatural feeling.

    I spent this time, having a coffee with mum. Spotting a cafe, called Christina, I took it as sign. And sat outside and took this time to organise my apps and stop all my notifications from any non-necessary apps.

    I also spent time looking at the old battered buildings. And still finding them so beautiful. Couldn’t help but think why was I so worried about my old apartment, these are all super wonky, and still very much standing.

    Hungry, I pressed on. Found a Belarus brunch spot with room for one. Less room for my backpack. But nonetheless I had my first Belarus Brunch, can confirm, top notch level.

    Finished, and I’ve still got ANOTHER one hour wait to till the albergue opens. So I find a concrete bench in-front of a church and wait.

    And then doors open. And everyone’s is so lovely. Run by volunteers they have a calm and clear way despite having a number of different languages to accommodate to, of checking you in, stamping your credential (pilgrim passport) and showing you the ways and systems of the albergue.

    I met another woman, called Lisa (but with crazy similarities to Jess), german on her second Camino during check-in. And came across my first story from another behind the why of taking on the Camino. Lisa’s story is she wants to compare who she is now with the Lisa who took the first Camino, and reflect and identify the changes that have occurred since. Perhaps I’ll do the same in some years to come?

    Oh and another sign. The second volunteer here I talked to, I’ve overhead her say she’s from Buffalo, NY. Where mum stayed during her international exchange trip with AFS, where mine was Brazil and the whole reason I chose the Portuguese route because of my experience of the language. This made my heart light up.

    My favourite of the place belongs to Peregrina, the albergue’s no longer feral cat. Fierce, soft yet sassy. An absolute perfect trifecta of qualities, of which we should all aspire too. I’m quite sure the curling round my feet was her way of blessing them for the miles to come.

    Oh, and the stress I had from my gifted star bracelet breaking. I’ve since learnt that was only a good thing, because it means a wish has come true. And it has - I’m here! But I’ve incorporated into another bracelet, because all good intentions are welcome here!
    Read more