Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Final things

    April 5 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    To breakfast or not to breakfast here…

    Realised I’m quite far away from the extrovert I was once was. I’ve not yet seen anyone else staying here, and I could hear the click/clack of doors going down, then voices, then chairs scraping.

    I could have slept more. And there’s only a few things I need to do today. But I threw my flannel shirt over the dress im using to sleep in and sshlomped downstairs. Turns out I sat next to a Mexican lady, who lives in Germany, who’d just finished the Camino. She enjoyed it but lamented all the rain which meant her and many others forgot about the spiritual variant and just kept going.

    Breakfast was, difficult, lots of wheat! So cornflakes and filter coffee. But the coffee was cold, so that didn’t happen. I instead, headed out to find breakfast. I thought I’d try the Livrario Lello on the way, but that had queues down the street. So no! But amazing to see a bookshop with that much attention, better that than M&M world ya know?

    There was a shop a few doors now with a beautiful interior. That was a nice mooch, but my tummy is calling. I found a lil cafe on the way to my destination. Where I fully conversed in Portuguese. Confidence boost. Also had the best brunch I think to date - chicken, avocado and curry chutney waffles! Upon leaving I asked to pay in Portuguese and the woman apologies for mistaking me for English when I went inside. Instead of Brazilian, so surprised when I said I actually was.

    Mood was melancholic today. I enjoy exploring, but I’m getting twitchy energy. I think I just want to get started. My head is seeming trying to pressure itself to think up things profound instead of waiting, patiently. But so much of my working out is verbal processing so talking to myself in my head is hard going.

    I went to the Cathedral, to collect my pilgrim passport. But just sat for ages outside. I guess theres some freeing aspects of not needing to be anywhere. I hadn’t still got somewhere to book for tomorrow night and that was playing on my mind but not enough to do something then and there. I then explored the actual Cathedral, my starting point. Which maybe earlier now.

    Thinking I just do a slow and short walk to Matosinhos. That way I can sense my pace and see how my feet fare. They’ve been alright around Porto. But I’ll need to be doing 3 x as much.

    I was able to sit quietly in the Cathedral and ask for what I hope to get out the Camino

    O Wellness
    O Clarity
    O Consistency
    O Acceptance
    O Healing
    O Difference

    Headache set in after. Worried it was gonna get worse I headed back picking up food and more water for my room. And just studied maps etc.

    I think I’ll start feeling better when I begin. Yes there’s more here to explore. But it’s not why I’m here.

    I can return. But after I’ve walked…
    Read more