Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Fairytale - Day 5

    April 11 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Woke Up: Dias House, Anha
    Destination: Carraço

    Left the earliest yet (although still last one to leave). Ironically after having a room by myself I slept the worst. The tickle at the back of my throat kept me awake.

    At breakfast I asked the Lady (although needed to translate tickle - but that also didn’t convey the issue) if she had anything to help - thinking a strepsil or something.

    Instead she went and made me a homemade honey, lemon and water shot. But she was very strict I take it after I finish breakfast. It was lovely and the tender care she took in making it was hospitality at its finest.

    The walk back to the Camino, included a hill. Which was tough going. I caught my shadow and found it looking more like a pilgrim.

    At the top of the hill I saw Viana do Castelo.

    Lynda from the day before caught up with me and at the same pace, we descended and crossed the bridge together. A walking holiday for her, and conversation was largely Dubai retail market.

    A widely different conversation from most Camino conversations.

    Wanting more alone time. I said I wanted to check out a church and the Catherdral before going on. Which I did. Although my Ouvi battery fell from my pocket when readjusting my rucksack. So I ran back, and it was there!!

    The Catherdral was beautiful in design. And I lit candles for various people’s healing, including my own. As well as the on going peace of Mum and Grandad.

    Upon leaving, I saw a shop with items I’ve been looking for, including sunglasses. I also treated myself to a viser! Especially helpful - as I can keep my hair up (as retired as it may make me look).

    Leaving, of course, I bump into Tim and Lesley having lunch. So I stop and take a snack with them. We’re staying at the same place, but Lesley foot is hurting and they’ve spent the morning getting lost so they’re taking a taxi to the place.

    I pop into a pharmacy on the way out. For my cough and nose. They give me some antihistamines. They warn like with all it can make you a bit drowsy. And I said with the way my body feels I doubt I would notice a difference.

    I press on. Not realising the route will be more uphill. It’s residential for quite a while - not my favourite parts of the walk. However, apparently my antihistamine is kicking in, as I start to feel high AF. Luckily it’s a few minutes things, and the road is evening out in a countryside.

    An older German gentlemen pilgrim, Stefan, who passed me earlier appeared, after getting sidetracked, and we chatted for a while. We came to a village with a rock cross high on the hill, leading to a stream, that looked straight out of a fairy tale. Stefan realising that I’d like to stay - wished me fair well.

    The beauty of the Camino is everyone realises the Camino is personal. And we’re guests in each other’s walk. In each pilgrim there’s a story. But rarely are there goodbyes.

    I decided to stay until the next pilgrim would arrive, but one never did. It felt like a dream.

    Once I left. Another pilgrim came upon me, Emma from France. Heading for the same destination we walked together.

    This is the most rural place I’ve stopped so far. But I loved the sound of the albergue. 500 years old, stone walls and animals.

    Grabbed some food however from the little shop before heading to it. In case there’s nothing.

    On arrival, Tim and Lesley, who are also with Mike and Beth from yesterday are here!! Gave me a fanfare arrival, laughing that I’d “picked up more people”. It was a core memory, though. The happiness in greeting folks, who are sharing the walk but understanding each other’s journey. Arrival at an albergue after each day is a personal and literal milestone.

    The evening. Included the best sunset. And some beautiful memories and realisations.

    Body check:
    O blisters (healed).
    O arm bruises (rucksack)
    O cough (allergy/climate)

    Little things/highlights:
    O morning honey drink
    O surprise waterfalls/streams
    O evening/night-sky
    Read more