Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10–12

    Rest - Day 6/7

    April 13 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    This place was peace.

    I can’t explain all the reasons why. Maybe it was the sunsets, maybe the rhythmic lighthouse glow, the starry moonlit skies, the freedom of the animals, the wild meadows, the brook that ran through the land.

    Probably a combination. How can a place feel like home, but also lost.

    I was told if I found somewhere that I wanted to explore while on the Camino to stay, perhaps rest.

    While I need to rest, because of “that” time. The Camino synced me up perfectly with this place.

    And instead of exploring I was still.

    I found a flat rock in the brook, surrounded by meadow flowers, and with butterflies dancing and also the inquisitive dragonfly.

    I sat. I meditated. I listened. I laughed.

    I felt time slow and stop. And I felt my impermanence and I felt joy in presence. Rooted in complete simplicity. It was emotional to feel this again. Knowing this feeling exists for me.

    How I keep the feeling, I don’t know. But knowing it exists, is good enough right know.

    Tomorrow I return to the Camino…
    Read more