Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    I can see spain!! 🇪🇸 - Day 9

    April 15 in Portugal ⋅ 🌬 19 °C

    Woke Up: Praia do Acora
    Destination: Caminha

    An afternoon of walking.

    With a decision to make. Do I take the boat at Caminha to Spain and rejoin the Coastal, or do I turn inland to the Central towards Valenca and cross the border at Tui.

    I think this will give me the best chance of being able to do the spiritual variant.

    I’m intentionally taking shorter distances now after all the foot injuries I’ve witnessed. Although I am aiming to pick up the distances once in Tui.

    I think I’ve identified all the main pressure points my feet suffer with. But there’s always more I’m sure.

    The route was mostly coastal with some road working.

    I got surprisingly emotional when seeing Spain. But perhaps not that surprising when I literally came last in all cross country / running activities at school, and here I am, literally about to cross a country after walking almost half the length of one.

    Finding my hostel I came across a church on a hill. I wondered if it was open, but no, locked. Until I heard a little voice shout out. It was a nun, who asked if I wanted a stamp. Of course I said yes.

    I also explored their cemetery. Complete with crypts. But all tombs and gravestones, all beautifully intricate and still maintained with fresh flowers despite many being decades old.

    I found the hostel. Ditched my rucksack and descended into town to see if I could make the post office before shutting. I did, just.

    I then found a restaurant to eat. While I was waiting one of mums favourite songs started playing. This was just as I was deliberating on what to do tomorrow - so she helped and endorsed the decision made.

    I also made friends with a rescue puppy (who has a home now!!) - just can’t believe she was abandoned. And talked to two other pilgrims, from America, who shared their Camino reasons (grief journey) for a while before heading back.

    Body check: feet as usual, although heel blister healing can still flare slightly after 3 hours walking time. Back is burnt, somehow. Perhaps yesterday at the cafe? (Managed to find a lovely Italian woman - also a masseuse - who put balm on for me).

    Little things/Highlights:
    O Breakfast with Julie with Pastel de Natal
    O Kindness of Italian lady
    O Puppy!!!!
    Read more