Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Quiet - Day 10

    April 16 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    Woke Up : Caminha
    Destination : Vila do Cerveria

    Another quiet and short day today. A bit of a blip of time confusion. My phone had sync’nd with Spanish time, which meant me rushing out of the hostel.

    However I was a whole hour earlier. As the albergue was quite far from the Camino, I decided to take the train back to it. However again I was whole hour early for it. It meant I got to help a retired pilgrim couple, from New Hampshire, navigate the train. They were visiting Valenca and Tui for the day - before heading back to Caminha to take the litoral path.

    I surprised a young couple by asking them a question on the train! (Who would later wave to me, when passing me in a cafe).

    Of course I choose another albergue way up a hill out of town. But the town was pretty. And wandered a little before going up.

    People from the houses waved to me and of shouted ‘Bom Camino’. The albergue, Pilgrim Rest, was small but beautiful with a stunning garden, wind chimes, fruit trees and an allotment. Of which the food for the evening would be picked from.

    Michaela, knowing I couldn’t have much gluten before arriving, had prepared a delicious broccoli and cheese quinoa dish, salad and sorbet for the meal.

    There was only a handful of other pilgrims. 2 retired guys, including Baz. From Australia. He was taking his time getting to Santiago, and then Finisterre, to throw a rock for his little girl who died at 4 months but would be 21 this month.

    Dan from Brazil, then NY, who’d quit his finance career against advice of family and friends and has now walked the French Way, and is continuing on to Porto or Lisbon. He hasn’t decided yet.

    And then a retired woman, Christine, who came today to start the Camino tomorrow.

    After tea, I watched the sunset and listened to the wind chimes. I chatted a little more to Baz about his backstory and life as is the way on the Camino. And then we were all tucked up in Bed by 9 ready for an early checkout of 8am.

    Body Check: still got my sunburnt socks! No hope of blending this apparently to my other skin tone. Despite a week in shorts! Oh well. Slight arch pain. No more blisters for now.

    Little things/highlights:
    O Acting like kids as grown adults getting ready for bed.
    O Eating fresh food outside.
    Read more