Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Meltdown - Day 13

    April 19 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    Woke up: Hostel Bulwark, Valenca
    Destination: Os Eidos

    I woke up at 7:30 and everyone had left!!

    I felt mega late. It took me a while to repack in the morning but I made my way out with the intention of eating breakfast on the way and exploring a little more of Valenca and Tui on the way .

    Which I did. Coffee and pasta de natal at the restaurant last night, where I got a stamp! Almost left my pole again!

    Visited the Knights Templar Church that Anna told me about. And stood in the corner while tourists came in and out. I just soaked in the space. It did feel different and after a while I did get emotional. That place IS special.

    Opposite was quirky antiques store, with a lovely lil chap, who gave me prices lower than whatever it was priced which was somewhat refreshing. We then had a conversation outside about the church and the Camino. He told me his best chance now is to drive it, but they frown on that.

    The way out of the fort was something special. It was giving Lord of the Rings vibes. And I loved it.

    Got a lil lost on the way out. And ended up on a battlement again, but soon figured it out.

    Got accosted by an American man asking if there was anything up there, and I think I replied with ‘yeah, everything, once in a lifetime thing’ and he and his companions had so many questions about the Camino.

    After living and breathing the Camino for so many days. You forget that some people just don’t know anything about it. They asked my name, thanked me and off I popped to the bridge to officially walk into Spain.

    Don’t remember the exact time as I was bricking it! The footpath bridge was again, long and felt like it was fixed with sellotape. So concentrated on breathing until I reached the otherside.

    I got a glimpse of Tui castle/Catherdral and hoped the Camino would take me passed. Despite it being on a hill. And it did! And the hill was easier than I thought - whether my body is stronger or hills are more gradual - it wasn’t too much of a slog. And unfortunately it wasn’t open. But my word is it impressive?!

    I had a lil chat with a man who took my photo at the doors which I super appreciated. And I also took a photo of three German friends who took a photo of me.

    I then wished to find a lil cafe for lunch on the way out of Tui. But apparently there was none. But there was a lovely stretch of old churches and woodland river walks with clearly old Roman structures still in place.

    But I did need to stop at some point and cafes that Google said were there weren’t. So when I came to the main road crossing I walked 100 metres or so back to a lil roadway cafe. That was NOT a friendly experience. So I just downed a juice and got a water to go! Quickly.

    After this the road stretch was long and seemingly never ending! And that’s when my mental power was properly first challenged. The sun, the heat, my brain. My legs. All got too much and of course I start beating myself up, knowing that actually I’m doing such comparatively shorter distances now.

    But at least the last section was mostly woodland and with a Roman bridge!

    And finally to Casa Alternativo. Last one here means I’m on the top bunk for the first time. But everyone was a lot more welcoming. Again, the majority Germans.

    Pilgrim dinner was amazing. I had a rice and fish fished cooked especially for me. Played with the dogs, dipped my feet in the cold pool. And after food Julia, came to visit me with her aunt from Vigo. She had asked if I needed anything. I said cotton wool and maybe cough sweets. She seemingly bought a whole pharmacy, bless her. But it was soooo good to see her and her love for the Camino was evident. I know she got emotional when I was talking about my experiences. And her aunt informed the conversations with her knowledge from living in Santiago.

    Oh and I also realised for the whole of today. I’m still on Portugal time. So weird for it now to be light at 9pm in a day.

    But sleep is needed as tomorrow apparently we’re getting woken up by music…

    That’s new.

    Body check: arm / back pack bruises make me look a bit drug addict-y.

    Little things / highlights;
    O strangers doing their best to take photos of you (Lorenzo / Catherdral man)
    O motivational signs when you need them
    O friendly welcome signs when you need them
    O pilgrims putting their mobile lights on so you can reach your top bunk
    O friends that bring you supplies in the middle of no where
    Read more