Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Tallyho…Day 12

    April 18 in Portugal ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    To the city…

    An early breakfast at 7.30! And a quick chat/help again with a young pilgrim, Misa, from Norway whose feet weren’t good. Tendonitis.

    She set off to get the boat taxi. And I set off to Valenca.

    A relatively short walk in the morning. I made it in for 11am.

    Headed straight to the walled city.

    Such an incredible experience as there’s cars that pass through and the tunnels need traffic lights for pedestrians and cars as only one can go at once.

    I walked around and touristed. And then Misa came to meet me, before she attempted to walk to Tui. Which she did. We sat on the grass battlements for a while, and then went back in. Letting her use my pole for the ascent in.

    Another pilgrim, who will now be walking slightly and then taxing the rest of the days.

    I do feel lucky that as slow as I maybe going or at least shorter distances. I’m still going. And I need to remember that when I feel frustrated when seeing other folks go longer distances.

    My pace is my pace and I think 10 miles is my main limit in this weather, prior to getting blisters or sunstroke.

    I had a quick snack of juice and pasta de natal of course. And headed to check-in.

    Great hostel! And just amazing to stay in the actual fortified city.

    And showered and then headed out for the evening. I joined a Canadian couple and Australian at the table next to me for a while, then ate my omelette tea. And toasted me and mum for getting halfway.

    I then went with to the Western facing battlements for sunset with Hubba before returning to hostel and to bed.
    Read more