Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Himeji

    December 12, 2022 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    Within a minute of stepping off the train an old lady came up to me and welcomed me to Himeji, then asked where I was from and she said she had been to NZ and loved it. Everyone in this city feels so much more welcoming than everywhere else I have been so far. I found a little cafe to have a late breakfast, they didn't speak any English so I struggled a little but got there in the end. I had all my luggage with me so took up a whole table but they made me feel welcome still.
    Walking through the streets there are art pieces and it's clean and tidy.
    Walking through the market streets it feels quiet like the tourists are yet to return here, it could also just be the time on a Monday though.
    I saw a couple of stray cats around as well, felt bad as I had no food to give them but they also looked somewhat taken care of.
    Read more