Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Himeji castle

    December 12, 2022 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 10 °C

    I had forgotten that I had been to this castle 23 years ago but it looked familiar so I checked my photos and figured I should go while in the town. I wish I had come straight here instead of the love hotel as they had an event which ended last night where they lit up the castle at night. Oh well, live and learn.
    I tried to stand in the same spot as my younger self but it was hard to tell with how much the trees had changed.
    It was an amazing castle to walk through, you get to go completely through all 7 floors inside of the main building and through the surrounding ones as well, they let you take photos and have a lot of photo stands set up for you.
    The wooden design and structure of this building is amazing to look at. There were so many places I had to duck under beams and doorways 😁.
    Read more