Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 19

    Last night in Osaka

    December 17, 2022 in Japan ⋅ 🌧 5 °C

    I went to a small temple with a massive oni statue - Namba Yasaka Jinja. It was still raining so it was not very busy. Pretty cool statue though.
    I headed back to the hostel for a quick stop and grabbed my towel to head off to an onsen. The onsen was $5 and was pretty basic, at first I was the only person there but I'm glad they are least had a cold plunge pool. I did a couple of laps and then headed out for some dinner.
    Across the alley from the onsen was a standing izakaya so I stopped for a drink and some Kobe beef. He got me to try some of the toungue stuffed with green onions which I ate but was a bit tough for me.
    The Kobe beef on the other hand was amazing, melt apart in your mouth with heaps of flavour.
    I then felt like a desert so I found a busy pastery place and got some night treats.
    I hung around and was social in the common area for a little but it was about 8 when I called it a night. I went back to my bunk, wrote up my penguins which were outstanding and watched some YouTube. Spent half the night awake trying to figure out what I'll be doing over the next couple of days.
    Read more