Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Imperial palace

    December 21, 2022 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 6 °C

    I dumped my luggage at the hotel and started walking left, I had no plan on where to go but found myself upon the imperial palace grounds and by the time I got there I was perfectly on time for the morning tour group.
    It was quite boring where they did a basic walking tour around some buildings. You got to see about 10% of the grounds and I understand as the emperor lives there but the buildings you saw and the history of the place just felt fake and boring. I guess I compared it a lot to the other castles as I went and this place didn't have that heritage feeling to it.
    I probably would not suggest anyone does it unless they really care about government or the Emperor.
    Ran into a guy from Portugal who had promised his sons he would do this tour but found it just as boring. Spent most of the time hanging back and just talking to him.
    Helped him a little afterwards by getting a ticket to Kyoto on the bullet train for tomorrow. He was worried about how to book it and I explained it's better to book in advance so you have the seat reserved.
    Read more