Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Studio Ghibli Museum

    December 21, 2022 in Japan ⋅ ⛅ 9 °C

    When I first arrived in Japan I booked a ticket for the Ghibli museum as you can't book overseas and it is often booked a month in advance. I was able to get a ticket for today at 2pm
    I got myself a ramen lunch and then walked through the park next to the Ghibli museum as I had a bit of time still. It was really nice and calm to walk through.
    I got back to the museum on time but was really upset they don't allow you to take photos. The same happened in the manga museum and I guess its a copyright thing but I took a few secretively anyway.
    I was still quite tired from the night train but this place made you act like a little kid by looking in little areas or turning cranks to make film slides flow. They walked through how slit animation worked and then was adapted to film animation. How slides on-top of drawings can make the image move or grow/shrink as needed.
    There was a short movie which I was worried about at first but it had no language similar to a Pixar one and was nice to watch through.
    I took the spiral staircase to the roof and took a photo with the laputian robot.
    I got myself a little souvenir broach of noface and was tempted to get more as the prices were not that bad but was happy with something small.
    I think I was most happy with the drain face guy, he just made me laugh as I didn't expect to see him there.
    Read more