Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Harajuku and Yoyogi Park

    December 25, 2022 in Japan ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    I headed to Harajuku to meet up with the Pilkingtons for a Christmas wander.
    We started walking up a crowded street which had the animal cafe on it, saw some people with rainbow fairy floss so Sienna had to give one a go, I personally liked the grape purple layer.
    We stopped for a crepe, mine had strawberry, ice-cream and cream in it. Was pretty good and only $6 or so.
    We then walked into a novelty store and I remembered my Bowser hat and figured I would wear it for a while as it was Harajuku and seemed the place for it.
    We started to walk over to Yoyogi park and someone came up and asked if they could interview me for their tv show. I didn't know at the time what it was but gave it my best to answer their questions. The show was called "Why did you come to Japan?" So they asked me lots of questions regarding that while I was still wearing the Bowser hat. Apparently they do this often and they even offered to help me find my original host family but I explained I didn't know enough to be able to track them down and it was okay. I'll have to keep an eye out if I end up on tv somewhere.
    We then walked through Yoyogi and saw the Elvis guys doing some dancing, a group of girls doing a photo shoot and a drum circle having some fun. Stopped for a bit to watch a juggler who had some decent comedy.
    The kids wanted to find a Pokemon centre so we headed to the closest one which was towards Shibuya. I found some more teddy bears on the way, not sure why they are such a popular thing but I found them very interesting. We got to the Pokemon centre but it was packed and even trying to look around took ages to get anywhere. We then walked past Shibuya crossing and in the train station downstairs got some cream filled pastries which I have become slightly addicted to.
    Read more