Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Vancouver

    October 2, 2022 in Canada ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    After an almost 10 hour flight I arrived in Vancouver in the late afternoon. It was perfect weather - 20 degrees and sunny. I was tired and excited at the same time. After 3 years of waiting for this moment because of COVID and other circumstances, it felt kind of surreal being in Vancouver.
    In Vancouver it was 5 P.M and in Germany midnight and I was so tired. So, I decided to go to the stadium as it was only a few blocks away. I had been following the MLS in Germany before I flew out so I knew how the season had been going. Straight away I was able to tick one wish off my bucket list on the very first day. Not a bad start, if I do say so myself!

    The following days were amazing, however, Vancouver was never going to be my favourite place in the world. It is a beautiful city without a doubt, but the fact that there are so many homeless people living almost side by side with the others is just shocking.
    Anyway, I met a lot of nice and friendly people from all over the world. I met another German guy who *is a wheelchair user*. I was super impressed as he told me that he he was also going to be solo-traveling around Canada for one year now. We had a lot of fun and he had some really good stories.

    After 5 days in Vancouver I packed my backpack and took a flight to Williams lake which is seemingly close to where I am now - working my first Workaway job in Canada. However, the word 'close' has a complete different meaning in Canada.
    Read more