Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Day 2 - Porto to Esposende

    June 7, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 23 °C

    Wow , what a first day in the saddle. 60km all relatively flat. I chose to do the coastal route due to the weather conditions. With three days of thunderstorms and rain forecast along all of the route it was inevitable that I would be getting wet at some point.
    Leaving Porto was difficult in all of the traffic and trams, but once over the bridge it was a beautiful coastal ride. Bicycles are not allowed on some of the boardwalks that are reserved for walkers only, I rode the cycle paths along side them, although it was not a challenging day in the saddle, it was a stunningly beautiful one. I stopped in Vila do Conde at lunch time and to get the obligatory stamp, which came free with a small beer, so why not indulge. Leaving Vila do Condo was on kilometres of cobbles roads. Took me straight back to when I did the Paris Roubaix sportif. Lots of memories flooded back, making it a hard emotional day, solo riding in the rain, some tears shed, but I realised that each solo peddle stroke is one closer to healing.
    With the thunderstorms really coming in strong I decided to check into a small hostel for the evening. After a shower and change, headed out into Esposende for a good old fashion northern mooch. Finding a little French bar and chatting to the owners in French, what a treat. They gave me some French wine and some of their own French cheese. God love the French. I have missed it.
    Tomorrow it’s an early start to miss the rain. Until then Bonne Nuit mon amours.
    Read more