Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Day 25-28 Lava Mountain to Atlantic City

    August 8, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☁️ 13 °C

    Leaving Lava mountain and two more of our group head out solo, maybe we will catch up further down the road, who knows. Life on the trail is pretty transient. People cross your path for a day, others weeks, some a few minutes just to say hi, much the same as life. Each with a lesson to learn from. I am a “through biker”doing the complete trail, headed south bound (known as SOBO) hoping to reach New Mexico, others are North bound (NOBO) heading up to Banff. Others are section riders, each with their own purpose and reasons for being on the trail. Non of us ever really taking note of the day of the week, just the weather and the next climb ahead of us, enjoying the present moments we share. After the storms I took the Wild River route to Landers, going over the Chief Washakie trail. It was absolutely stunning, passing through red canyon pass. In total for the last three days I have climbed nearly 9000 feet and only covered 155 miles. The hills, headwind and rain make cycling days long and hard. When we reached Landers, it was time to replace both of my tyres, my glasses, helmet, and cycling shorts. Then one of the amigos got sick with food poisoning, halting his journey for a few days. I pushing on to Atlantic City. It was an all seasons day, setting off in the sun, finishing in the rain at Wild Bills place. The town is a dirt track town and Bill has 10 cabins with wood burners. Perfect for drying off. Tomorrow I start The Great Divide Basin, an area of land in the Red Desert of Wyoming where none of the water falling as rain to the ground drains into any ocean, directly or indirectly. With no habitants or resupply places and two limited water sources its 135km of baron landscape, making it one of the most treacherous parts of the journey. Currently I am tucked up in bed, dry and warm, watching the fire. Reflecting on the journey and my life so far, those who remain constant and those who have passed through, those who are temporary and those who have lessons to teach me. Maybe some paths will cross again in the future and some will stay longer than expected. Who knows. I will enjoy the moments and the time we have. I will never have this day again, only the memories of it.Read more