Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 35

    Day 31-34 Rawlins to steamboat springs

    August 14, 2023 in the United States ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Time to let go and let my hair down. Leaving the Basin, I headed into and quickly out of Rawlins. Not one of the nicer places the route passes through. Sadly it was a concrete highway in and out of the run down town nicknamed “the prison”. My next planned stop was the famous Brush Mountain Lodge, It was too far to get to in one push so a night wild camping was on the cards, which proved to be quite the challenge. I made a fire and ate dinner watching the sky turn red, as soon as I got into the tent the thunderstorm started to rumble. All night it rained with lightning. When I did finally fall asleep I woke early thinking I was in a swimming pool in Spain!. No such luck, the amount of rain meant my tent leaked. Getting to Brush mountain lodge after waking up wet was like arriving at an oasis. Kristin, the host totally makes the place, it’s so chilled sitting on the veranda with a cold soda, chatting chains, seats and tyres! The following day I arrived in Steamboat. An amazing, buzzing little ski town, so beautiful I decide to take a zero day and really enjoy it. After the morning reading by the river, I visited the spa for a well needed manicure and pedicure, then off to the hot springs for a soak and a massage. (My idea of a day off!) Whilst walking through town to the Hot-springs, I noticed a sign saying free line dancing classes that night. Why not I thought to myself, when in Rome! Fully fresh and feeling like a new woman I headed to the bar. It’s an odd feeling going into a bar alone as a single woman, but I really fancied the line dancing. As soon as I entered and people heard the British accent and I soon made some new friends, lots of cowboys and girls. The atmosphere was amazing. It was 1am before the dancing stopped and the bar threw the remaining few of us out. Spending the night being swung round, and dancing with heel kicking, Stetson wearing, tall cowboys was so much fun. Was it because that day I had made the conscious decision to let go and move on, or was it the pamper day, personally I believe if you feel good then your exude confidence, so perhaps a combination of both. Either way I haven’t laughed like that in a long time. Enjoy the video…..Read more