Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Privet from Moscow!

    April 1, 2018 in Russia ⋅ ☁️ 2 °C

    This is not an April Fools!

    This first day of a trip is usually the longest and most tiring. And boy was it a long one today!

    It started with my alarm going off at 3am, quickly getting dressed and then checking my bag for the millionth time (even though I know all I really need is my passport, visas and money, as believe it or not there are shops outside Europe!). Then it was into the car I went with Mum and Dad very kindly driving me to Gatwick airport. Four hours later and I’m at the airport and it’s time to say the difficult farewell. All I can say is thank god for modern technology! (FaceTime will make the distance not seem so bad - I hope!)
    In order to get to Moscow I had to fly via Riga, with a 3 hour stopover. Both flights were very smooth and the only worry I had was that my bag was definitely not within the 8kg weight limit! And that was even with me doing a Joey (Friends) and wearing practically all my clothes! With the help of some crossed fingers me and my bag boarded both planes in tact. No €60 fine for me! Phew!
    Moscow airport was a breeze. Got through passport control quickly and found the airport train to the city. 40 minutes later I’m in central Moscow. I then managed to figure out the underground, and with the help of my hostels directions with accompanying pictures I found my home for the night!
    And that’s where I am now! Tucked up in my cozy 12 person dorm ready to hit the hay. Tomorrow the fun can really begin!

    Until next time
    Dasvidania!
    Read more