Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Gwanak-san

    September 25, 2014 in South Korea ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    Gwanak-san (Mt Gwanak) is a typically north Asian mountain with big rocky outcrops that have been walked for centuries. The trail up the mountain is typical of the pali-pali (hurry hurry) culture of South Korea. There's no messing around with making the climb easy.

    I'm hiking with Mark, an American living in South Korea who has helped me with information for my bike trip. He tells me tips and tricks as we walk.

    The views from the hike are spectaular. Seoul is a vast sprawling white concrete jungle that drifts around dark green mountains. Up here on the mountain leaves are just starting to take on their autumn redness and squirrels run along the branches.

    Ropes are bolted into the near vertical rock face. We need these to make the final ascent to the summit. Unlike the locals who barely touch the rope, I find myself clinging tightly. The views from the 624m summit are worth the effort. As is the spectacle of watching Koreans in their brightly coloured hiking outfits taking selfies.
    Read more