Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    day 1-thursday, march 21

    March 21, 2019 in DR Congo ⋅ ⛅ 39 °C

    1. After my flight from Lansing to O’Hare, I had about a 2 hour layover. Last summer I got a United credit card with 60,000 miles free, 2 guest passes to the lounges and free the 1st year. Following years it is $96 but since Denver and Chicago are both hubs, I’ll probably keep it. I also get priority boarding after all the other priorities (group 2) and I get 1 free checked bag. Anyway, the passes expire this coming August and I wasn’t sure I’d have the opportunity again, so I went to the lounge and had a very nice lunch: shrimp bisque, salad bar, mini brownies, crackers, cheese, bananas.
    2. Flew in on United from ORD (due at 3:57, got in early) and R picked me up around 4 pm. She had waited at school til I called (she gets out at 3:30 pm). DIA (airport) is very large and no matter what you fly in on, you have to take the train to baggage and checkin/security. I had no checked bags so Rach got there probably within 10 minutes of my call. We drove home in her rush hour traffic on the expressways with some major slow downs but I think it took about 45 minutes.
    3. Nick was home and R gave me a tour of the apartment. I’ll post the pictures on FindPenguin. It is much bigger than the last apt. and is quite nice. They had decided we’d go out for dinner and walked to a family owned small restaurant they hadn’t tried: Monterey House. It was a hole in the wall Mexican place with very good burritos. They really liked the food and will go back.
    4. We returned home and I think BB was on to watch. Don’t remember much else.
    Read more