Satelliet
Weergeven op kaart
  • Dag 26

    Good hike, bad hippie

    11 februari, Guatemala ⋅ ☀️ 24 °C

    I hiked what is called the Lower Mayan Trail yesterday. Not sure where the Upper one is but I thoroughly enjoyed the Lower one. It's a medium difficulty level, peaceful, undisturbed journey through the Guatemalan countryside. Stretching from San Marcos to Santa Cruz La Laguna, the winding footpath traverses local villages such as Tzununá and Jaibalito - where I stopped at the very cheap & tasty restaurant, Posada Jaibalito, aka Hans' place, with great, chilled ambiance - and arid forests whilst delivering some of the best views available from the northern shore of Lake Atitlan.

    After I finish my upteenth coffee in this little hippie town of San Marcos, I will take the boat to San Pedro to reunite with Beth and Rowen. The three days I'll spend there will be my last at Lake Atitlán, and Guatemala, as I fly back to Costa Rica on the 14th.

    Any good spiritual vibrations I may have accumulated here may be cancelled out because today is Super Bowl Sunday and I will be watching! It's bittersweet for NFL fans. So much so that what seems to be Hunter S Thompson's last written words penned 4 days before he shot himself to death on February 20, 2005 at age 67, had the title, “Football Season Is Over.”
    Meer informatie