Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 26

    Day 20 - Ledigos to Bercianos

    September 9, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 59 °F

    I’ve been pretty neglectful in updating my footprints since I got sick. One more day of antibiotics to go, and feeling better while simultaneously fighting competing infections. I’m going to try to back post for the last 10 days or so, but it could take a while.

    A little over a week ago, I received a message from the hostel I’d booked in Bercianos warning me about a festival on the night of my arrival. Schedules being what they are, I kept my reservation.

    I started this morning just after 7 from the lovely La Morena hostel in Ledigos. I walked out under cool temperatures with bolts of lighting lighting up the distant sky. I passed through Terradillos de Los Templarios, a town which obviously embraces its Templar history.

    Last night I got a message from my Mom asking for more landscape pictures. The truth is, in the meseta the landscape doesn’t really change. It’s a long gravel path, which you can see for kilometers, surrounded by brown fields if harvested wheat, dying sunflowers, and newly tilled fields. But, yeah, I took pictures for her anyway…

    The highlight of the day was the arrival in Sahagun - the geographical halfway point of the Camino Frances. In reality, I passed the halfway point yesterday - but it was still nice to take pictures at the monument and collect my halfway certificate as well!

    Another ten kilometers lay before me after Sahagun, but fortunately clouds filled the sky and along with a cool breeze it made the walking quite lovely. I listened to an audiobook as the kilometers ticked away.

    I arrived in Bercianos mid-afternoon to find my pilgrim hostel filled up with locals drinking at the bar. I’m not sure what this festival is - something about music? But as the email suggested, it’s a bit loud - and the music hasn’t even started yet!

    I was happy to find Jeanette and Betina at the hostel - so we raised a glass and ate pizza in celebration of our accomplishments! 26k for today - so feeling a bit worn, but no doubt ready to tackle what tomorrow will bring!
    Read more