Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Wat Pho

    December 3, 2016 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    First whole day in Bangkok. Yup, had a jetlag. I slept till noon and missed my breakfast. Off to the town then ;)
    Walked about 20km, there were tons of Thai people mourning for their king whose birthday is tomorrow. They were all in black, many many monks, ... A tuktuk driver warned me I shouldn't wear short, but he just wabted to earn his 50THB. I ealked through people, through hundreds of food stands, the smell was awful! Disgusting! Some shitty sour stuff they make, eww.

    Finally I found a nice decent place for breakfast accross the road of Wat Pho. What I ate? Best things (besides bacon) - pineapple shake, mango shake, coffee and club sandwich. Yumm. At breakfast I was joined by a nice couple from Frankfurt and they suggested I go to another temple, it's prettier they said. I took my day off, I took it easy, no rush, walking and checking people, so I went accross the street to Wat Pho". For 100THB you get to see the biggesrtBuddha (30 tons), awesome chinese statues and tons of other gold statuea. Pretty amazing. It was all moced to Bangkok from Ayutthaya after 2nd war with Burma, when everything was burned down.
    Not too many tourists, peace and quiet. Going to BKK? Check it out!
    Read more