Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    Siem Reap, Cambodia

    December 4, 2016 in Cambodia ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    It means Siam Defeated. I really don't know what to say, I'm speechless. Not that I expected a big fancy city, but ... their year's sallary is less than a phone I'm writing this on. $700 / year. I feel so ignorant :/
    Angkor Wat and tourists are the only thing keeping this town alive. It is an AWESOME town though, nice and warm people, it's amazing, everything costs 1$, beer is 0.5$ though :) Also tourists differ a lot from those in Bangkok, way more true backpackers. It feels nice to be here :) You just have to keep saying no to all the massages and tuktuk driver since they are offering that on every step.
    I have two roomates, a swedish dude that keeps studying and a canadian dude, retired psychologyst traveling aroung his whole life. So me and the old guy went to grab something to eat. That's the people I like meeting amd talking to on trips, people who share experiences, who've seen the world, we've met toms of nice prople from Australia, US, ... interesting debates. At the end we tried fried ice cream, something you can buy on any corner.
    Hostel is a winner, friendliest staff ever, cheap, clean, amazing people, cute girls, I still need to check the pool on rooftop tomorrow.
    And yes, I found snakes on a stick, but they are tiny ones, eeewwwwwwew.
    Read more