Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Chiang Mai and temples, yay!

    December 11, 2016 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    Slept long, washed clothes and booked a zipline tour and a Doi Inthanon day tour for Tuesday, so can't wait! Doi Inthanon is the highest mountain in Thailand so of course I have to see it.
    I went out to be cultural today, a trip around the temples. There are more than 300 in Chiang Mai, I visited the ones in Old Town. First I went to the Wat Chiang Mai, the oldest royal temple in town. Pretty peaceful to walk around. Next up was Wat Chai Phrakiat, a small one just on the way to the biggest one - Wat Chedi Luang, they started building it in 14th century when King Saem Muang Ma wanted to bury his father's ashes. It took ober a century to build and it was 82m high! There were Buddhas everywhere of course :)
    After all then I noticed the whole town center closed and they started building market stands. The center turned into one biiiig market, selling everything from food, drinks, elephant statues, you name it! I ate a LOT of different foods, had all kinds of fruits, waffles, ...
    Time for an evening's beer and early sleep, I have to be ready at 7am tomorrow for a zipline, yay!
    Read more