Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Ballooning day!

    December 22, 2018 in Myanmar ⋅ ☀️ 27 °C

    Balloon flights are popular in Bagan and for an obvious reason. It is not cheap though. They go for $350, I got it for $300. I wanted to skip this but... some British couple in Yangon's hostel was so amazed by it so I thought - I'm here, it's really an amazing place so why not? I had to wake up at 4:30, they picked me up and some other guests and went to this place where it all starts. This really is well organized stuff, run by British company, called Oriental Ballooning. You get coffee, meet the pilot, they tell you all there is to know, you see them test all the equipment so you have zero doubts about everything. There were 4 balloons from our company and 8 more from others, 12 people per balloon, that has 4 sections with 3 people in each. Then it starts - they fill the balloons with fans first, then the fire starts. These things are HUGE! Our pilot was this lovely Swiss girl, who flies all around the world, very informative, fun. Next thing you know - you are airborne! I won't even write, pictures should say enough. Let me just say this is on of greatest things I've done on trips. And it's worth every cent!Read more