Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Camping Steeltrap Gap 60

    May 8, 2017 in the United States ⋅ 🌙 12 °C

    This was a very eventful day!! After heading out early as planned we saw lots of cute chipmunks and a beautiful red bird.
    After an exhausting descent from Blue Mountain we were greeted by a Trail Angel who brought delicious coffee, Donuts, fruits and even a beer!! What a motivation boost!! Gave us just the right energy to get up to Tray Mountain. On the way we met 90 (his trail name because of the 90 pounds backpack) and his trail pet Max. He said that he is living on the trail.
    At some point we lost Julia because I wanted to hike ahead to refresh myself and Christi is anyway faster. But as she didn't arrive after one hour, I went to look for her on the way back. So I ran two times up and down the Tray Mountain :D So Julia contacted our friends in Germany ( <3 for Matze & Mari) who were luckily awake to tell them that she missed the exit for the Shelter. After I got the message, I packed my stuff and went out in the dark. An hour later I found her at the campsite and we enjoyed some cold ramen soup :)
    Read more