Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 29

    Lille Wasquehal

    August 11, 2016 in France ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Hey all, decided to stay for 2 nights (might need to stay a 3rd....more on that later). When you travel light you need to wash reasonably often and usually you can tell when it's time, and if you can't, well some kind person sitting next to you on a train makes it obvious (great way to get a seat row all by yourself!!!). Most of the budget hotels I'm staying at don't have a fridge let alone a laundry so had to find one in town. You meet some other interesting travellers at self service laundries and I learnt that if you travel really light you sit around in your jocks while your two pairs of jeans are washing/drying - no not me, just a Kiwi travelling with nothing more than a very small backpack.

    Heading off to Belgium (booked a room with shared facilities cause that is one expensive country). Decided I'd lube/clean the chain and check the oil. 2 hours later and the bike was on the back of a trailer getting towed to a BMW bike shop. Went to check the oil, unscrewed the plug and heard a snap. The stick part of the dipstick snapped off and slid into the oil tank..yay!!!!

    Should be easy to fix, remove the bottom plate, take out the plastic, put the plate back and refill. Well thats what I hope anyway. At least I know the road assist works. Hopefully will be done early enough to let me get away tomorrow.

    Wasquenhal, part of the Tour de France in 2004, but not much else to talk about (but it is close to the Belgian border for a jump-off). Really just a place to do your washing and have some bad luck with your bike....

    Not my pic, but what the hell, I did buy lunch there.

    Bye for now
    Read more