Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    I'm in Belgium - Verviers

    August 12, 2016 in Belgium ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    Hmmm, an interesting city. I'm staying right next to the central station an area has a decisively seedy feel about it. Verviers has been in the news due to some extremist elements, maybe I need to research a bit more before heading off snd deciding where to stay. The ride here followed a pleasant river 'Vesdre' spoiled only by what looked to be a nuclear power station.

    Having said that, the hotel is clean and tidy and the recepetion staff are fantastic. My bike is just off the street in a locked-up fence area, I just really hope it is still there in the morning. Maybe I'm being a bit harsh...either way I'm looking forward to heading off in the morning. Thought I just heard something...whew, fireworks......

    Got the oilplug/dipstick fixed this morning, the guys at the shop were great. Had seen it all before and managed to get the broken bit of plastic out without having to loosen a single bolt. They didn't have any spares so took one from one of their showroom bikes. Did the lot for £40 and I was on my way by 10am. The taxi fare cost as much as the repair.

    Got a free hot chocolate while I waited by helping a cafe set up tables and chairs...I'll now call this a working holiday👍

    Heading off to Germany in the morning, via Spa, to have a look at the moto gp complex. The guy at reception has given me a mud map of what is supposed to be motorcycle heaven,to ride, for after Spa.

    Tomorrow night......Kerpen near Cologne in Germany.

    Bye...
    Read more