Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 38

    Czech Republic (Teplice) - yay

    August 20, 2016 in Czech Republic ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    After Dresden crossed the border into the Czech Republic. With open European borders I just sailed through from Germany - there was a border post, but no one asked me to stop so I didn't. There were some nice back roads from Germany winding up then down through dark pine forests.

    Teplice is a nice enough place though, as a "spa" town, I'm guessing winter is the time to visit when the place is covered in deep snow. It still has the remnants of old communism in some old dilapidated buildings. Oh, and as a visitor either you or (usually) your hotel has to register your passport with the local police.

    Two nights was probably one too many (see the next post I should have had 4 nights in Prague not 3). But I did have a pleasant start to my 1st morning when a local decided to sit right next to me at my outside cafe table (there were at least 10 empty other ones) and join me for breakfast.

    He was a big fit looking hairy bugger with long whiskers. He sat there saying little apart from making some munching sounds as if to make it obvious how much he was enjoying his food. He looked at me a few times but never said a word in Czech or otherwise. I'll put that down not to him being unfreindly, but the fact that he was a rather well fed rat!!!! And I mean rat in the literal sense. He ate, cleaned his teeth and went without leaving a tip.

    Okay... Next stop Prague
    Read more