Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 44

    Prague - should have been 4 nights

    August 26, 2016 in Czech Republic ⋅ 🌙 22 °C

    I did a selfie.

    Wow, what a beautiful, lively and very historic city - just incredible. Rode down from Teplice, again staying on back roads. Stopped at a village for lunch and asked for a cup of tea. Got a very quizzical look and ended up with a large glass of lukewarm water, a tea bag and a couple of satchels of milk - ahh well, it was ok.

    I was actually a bit apprehensive about going into Prague but a guy at a motorbike shop in in Dresden said I was crazy if I didn't. Him - "You go to Prague ya?" Me - "probably not". Him - "ya you go to Prague , if no you a #€$&@#%*&&@£€¥%^#¥ crazy Aussie". Some of it was in English, some in German and some from every language he knew a swear word from. Then he turned to another guy in the shop, and I'm guessing, told him "this $&@$ dumb Aussie is riding into the Czech Republic and not going to Prague". Well, I thought I'd already learnt a few new words I probably wouldn't get to use very often, but this guy was a linguist without compare, and a very good mime as well (maybe Italian?). Anyway, that's pretty much how I ended up coming to Prague.

    And they were right... what fabulous place. Cathederals, jewish ghetto, statues and monuments, bridges, worlds biggest castle, riverside cafes, restaurants, clubs, high end stores, horse-drawn carts, hyper sports cars, cobble stone streets, sex shops and people, ordinary everday people, having beer with breakfast (not me obviously, and not beer for breakfast either). I did a walking tour the first day and used that to work out what to go back and see. You could easily fill a few weeks here.

    Stayed in a small studio apartment (centre of town) clean comfortable with satellite TV, kitchenette and private locked parking for about $80 a night - pretty cheap.

    I had heard about the "Lennon" wall without paying too much attention thinking with the Czech Republic's communist and Russian background it would be that "Lenin". (Lenin/Lennon - bloody Czech accent). Well it turns out it was the "John Lennon" wall. A place, during communist rule, where students and others used to write and paint images and words of peace and change mostly based on Beatles/Lennon lyrics. The previous communist regieme tried for ages to cover it over and there were many clashes and protests. In the end they gave up. When I visited there were heaps of people singing (mainly "imagine" like bad karaoke) and milling around - a peaceful spot that fits in with the city.

    I went for a walk about late one night and got a bit lost - not only a great city, but seems a safe one, I did go down a few dark alleys looking for a way out and no-one approached me. Hell I even got offered drugs in Nimbin on a Good Friday!!!!!

    Anyway one of the best places I've ever visited, thanks to a couple of world class swearers!!!!

    Next stop Brno, 3 days after the Motogp, hows that for timing.

    Cheers
    Read more