Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Tulum Mexico and my first mayan ruins

    January 9, 2017 in Mexico ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    Today we set off for Tulum. We had the morning in Playa del Carmen and my good intentions of getting up early and going for breakfast in a beach cafe didn’t eventuate as a sleep in was too tempting.

    Tulum as a town is nothing much and is set along the highway. Our hotel was near the town centre which is handy for the cheaper restaurants, atms, car and bike hire etc.

    The beach is about a five minute drive and is quite nice (as an Australian I am a tough marker!).

    So after we arrived I was quick to hire a bike and set off for the Tulum ruins which have a spectacular ocean setting. The rest of the photos are taken at the ruins and you can see my bike straight from the 1950s! The turquoise waters were stunning. I think the Maya occupants would have felt pretty good waking up there every day!
    Read more