Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    One with the sea in Caye Caukler

    January 12, 2017 in Belize ⋅ 🌬 28 °C

    A fantastic day snorkeling. Whilst the reef wasn't very colourful the fish, giant sea turtles, sting ray and nurse sharks that we swam with were incredible! A real highlight.

    Wish I had had an underwater camera but on the other hand that would take you away from being in the momentl.

    This time with the sea turtles you were really close in crystal clear water and I got to do a mermaid dance (over under and beside it) with one of them as it swam around. I had to make sure I didn't touch it. Such docile and beautiful creatures. Although I did see one get very annoyed with a smaller mate knocking it until it swam away! I guess we all have days where alone time is required!

    There were quite a few sting rays as well but the turtles got my attention every time!

    I was so absorbed everyone else was back on the boat and one of the crew had to come and get me!

    Next was swimming with the sharks which was so exciting! There were so many of them and schools of colourful fish swam around you. Once again could have stayed there for ages.

    We also saw a ship wreck which was interesting - apparently it was carrying cement power and in a storm it got wet and the extra weight sank the ship!

    We even saw Dorie from Finding Nemo and the elusive angel fish which is on the Belize dollar.

    At night we went for a stroll down the main street and for dinner had a burrito from a street vendor where all the locals were going. $1.75 and it was huge with lots of filling.

    Next I decided I would check out the local reggie bar which opens at midnight! I had arranged to meet some of the group after they finished having drinks at the Sports Bar. Yes the name pretty much sums it up and its for tourists only although the young Belize men hang out there as well then move onto the reggie bar.

    The Belize men are very 'attentive' and marriage proposals are common. And if you can't get picked up at a bar in under a minute then there is something wrong with you!

    So we get to the reggie bar and every drunk backbacker who is staying on the island is there. Lots of dancing and they had the cool bar swings.
    I lasted about half an hour! But at least I checked it out, had a drink, a dance and declined three belizian men. Not bad for half an hour.
    Read more