Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Ikebukuro, Shinjuku, and Odaiba

    December 16, 2023 in Japan ⋅ ☁️ 21 °C

    I had a slower start and got moving around 9:30 a.m., where I headed to Ikebukuro. Here, I went to animate the worlds largest Anime store, and hit up some 2nd hand stores getting some goods for the kids.

    I then headed to Shinjuku and had so.e waffles and ice cream, before criss crossing the station sides seeing the 3D cat billboard and hitting up some more 2nd hand stores like Suraguya, and Book off.

    By now my bag was full and it was about 4pm. So I headed back to the hotel to off load my haul and decide what to do next. I remembered that it was Saturday and there are fireworks at Odaiba, so I headed into Asakusa shopping area and had some Udon and tempura chicken from Megarume.

    After a quick meal, I jumped on a train for the 50min journey to Odaiba. Waited in the slowest toilet line ever. Then, I finally headed out and grabbed the nearest spot with a view, so I didn't have time to go scope out spots by the water. The fireworks went for exactly 5mins as stated, and they lit up the rainbow bridge.

    After this I looked up to see the Unicorn Gundam statue was about 10mins walk away, so I headed there and arrived as the light show was on. This thing is pretty huge. After viewing that, it was a short 2km walk back to the train station. Where I missed one connection by seconds. This put me back at the hotel after 9pm, absolutely buggered.
    Read more