Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 4

    How to wash your hair in the wilderness

    September 6, 2017 in Greenland ⋅ ☀️ 7 °C

    There are many adventures to be when on a two week remote hike. One of the less glamorous adventures is keeping clean. But it's actually very simple. Wash your clothes in the beautifully clear water, no need for soap, and hang them off your backpack to dry. Wash yourself in the beautifully clear water, no need for soap either. If the water is too cold for a bath, I use a small wash cloth and a lightweight travel towel. And if it's seriously cold, I wash my bottom half first while keeping my coat on and then wash my upper half while having my warm pants back on :)

    When it comes to hair though, it's a bit different. You (or at least I) DO need soap for them to feel nice and clean again. Since you and fellow hikers want to drink the beautifully clear water of the lake or river, you cannot just wash in the lake, even though you're using a biodegradable product. But it, too, is very simple. Just wet your hair, walk away from the lake at least 50 meter - taking water with you - and wash out the shampoo there. The pictures show you how :)
    Read more