Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 47

    Day 24: amazing glacier adventure

    June 30, 2016 in Norway ⋅ 🌬 5 °C

    Aaaaaaah such a cool day! My plan was to climb the summit of Norway's highest mountain, but the weather looked really bad. Lots of rain (=snow on top), wind and no view from up there. Luckily I bumped into my friends Paula and Ryan from Toronto at breakfast, whom I had met 3 days ago, and together, we signed up for a glacier tour with a guide instead.

    We hiked to the glacier Svellnosbrean, about 2.5 hours away. Then we put on clamp-on spikes, harnesses and roped up in case someone falls into a glacier cleft or sinks into the snow (which can sometimes just sit like a thin bridge over a deep crevice). The clamp-ons are amazing and let you walk up very steep ice! It got pretty cold up on the ice in the rain and wind, but was worth every second! So cool to see it all up close and quite the adventure as well. Not recommended if you're afraid of heights ;)

    We got back around 3pm and after warming up inside, I took off for another 2 hours of hiking, taking advantage of a few hours of sunshine in the late afternoon. Just before the rain came back, I pitched my tent in a wide valley right by a little stream with small waterfalls, the perfect source of fresh water to cook my dinner now.
    Read more