Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 48

    Day 25: water under my feet all day :)

    July 1, 2016 in Norway ⋅ ☀️ 7 °C

    I made some good distance towards Fannaråk glacier today, where I plan to arrive tomorrow. The hike was quite scenic, from one valley to the next over higher and snow-covered grounds. The view was dominated by a rocky cone-shaped mountain and several lakes on the way.

    About a third of my hike was across snow today, which was quite enjoyable. Since it melts from below and the water sinks down towards the ground, the upper layers of the snow are dry, and good to walk on. Except close to large rocks, where you easily sink in a few inches. The other third of the hike I was crossing streams of melting water, rivers or muddy puddles of rain. I stopped counting at about 40 river / creek crossings, jumping from one rock to another (e.g. picture 2). It was very fun and thankfully my backpack is fairly light as my food is running low. Leaves only a third on "solid ground" :)

    After two days of snow, ice, rain and wind in I'm not really feeling on top of my game today. Sleeping early to get some rest and hopefully get rid of my runny nose. Bonne nuit!

    PS: picture 5 is another "search the reindeer" photo ;-)
    Read more