Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 55

    Day 32: hiking for beginners

    July 8, 2016 in Norway ⋅ ☀️ 8 °C

    It was so warm and comfortable at night, I slept extra long and didn't start hiking until 9:30. I had no rush, because the 27km would be fairly quick. My hike lead me along a bike pass all day, so there was no challenging uphill climb, no steep descents and no navigation necessary. I saw about 30 bikers, making their way towards Flåm, looks like a beautiful ride!

    It was sunny all day again, but the absolute highlight was the tiny post office (also the train station) at Finse (a "town" of 5 huts), where I got to pick up my next and last resupply package. It's feels just like Christmas, a large box full of food, my favorite snacks, a few necessaries and licorice :)

    I'm staying at a hiker's cabin (picture 6), as I'm not allowed to camp on this side of the lake. But I'm not complaining, it means shower and drying room so i can wash some clothes. Maybe tomorrow I'll camp over there as I wait for my brother and close friend to join me here on Sunday.
    Read more