Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Lights of Budapest

    December 23, 2018 in Hungary ⋅ ☁️ 8 °C

    Today I flew from Berlin to Budapest and checked into my hostel where I would stay one night before getting on a train to my friends' hometown the next day. As I wouldn't get much time, I immediately took off and discovered the enlightened streets of Budapest. Everywhere, there were Xmas lights and the atmosphere was amazing. I usually hate all the stress and consumerist trouble, Christmas brings, but here I was free and had nowhere to go except where I wanted to. So I bought myself a Lagos and strolled through the Christmas market. When I discovered one of my absolute favourite types of dessert, chimney cake, with ice cream in it, I couldn't resist. Completely overeaten, I had to wander off the calories and found myself at the Danube river. Suddenly, I realized a bunch of stone shoes beside the river and read the sign next to them, interested. They embodied the deaths of Hungarian Jews losing their lives in WWII. A little thoughtful, I went on to explore the city some more.Read more