Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Christmas Eve

    December 24, 2018 in Hungary ⋅ 🌧 5 °C

    I got up early to explore the most of Budapest before getting on the train to Adriennes hometown. So I climbed up the Buda (hilly) side of the town (pest means flat) to the Royal palace and had an amazing view over the city. As it became too cold in the wind, I quickly decided to go back down to the Danube river. Wandering a bit up and down the river, I stumbled upon a church service happening in the St.-Stephans-Basilika where I warmed my cold feet. When that was over, I hopped on the next train to Ács, arriving there in under an hour. I was greeted warmly not only from Adrienne, but also her mother and brother. We gathered around the beautifully decorated Xmas tree and I even got a gift from them, which I haven't expected at all. Thankfully, I could hand out some presents as well. Although I've never met Adriennes family before, they welcomed me to this traditionally family based holiday, as if I've always been there. I was quite thankful for that experience.Read more