Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Dishonoured Church

    November 26, 2022 in England ⋅ ☁️ 12 °C

    Today, I wanted to spend some time with my family as Lena and Eryk (my niece and nephew were home and my aunt Ela wanted to take them to a fair of their church. So, we packed up the kids and Ela's mom Yvonna (my actual aunt, Ela is actually my cousin, but as she is my godmother as well, I've always called her aunt), and made our way to the church.

    Disclaimer: I don't believe in God or anything related to religion, so I'm gonna make a little fun of the church now. Sorry, not sorry.

    Their was a flea market today with people selling their books, christmas decorations, toys etc. etc. to everyone who wanted to. The church however, as they really don't have loads of money, had come up with a business idea. To take a picture of their "very Santa-like" looking Father Christmas, you had to pay money. And... I was never really good in Religion, but, I can remember this story about Jesus, when he saw all the merchants selling their goods in a church, and screamed and shouted at them, destroying their things (violance isn't such a great idol here either). He told them they'd dishonour the place of God and that they should be ashamed of themselves.

    Well... They really should be, though.

    Anyway, Ela payed for us to meet Santa, the kids got some candy, we took a picture and after buying myself some new books (isn't consumerism also seen as bad?) we went to the playground. We did some excersises there and then went home for Ela to cook lunch and for me to play with the kids. As nice as it always is to visit my family, as nice is it, to know, when I come home there will only be my dog and Seb to wait for me - calm and quietness is way underrated
    Read more