Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    360° Contradictions

    March 3, 2019 in Montenegro ⋅ ☁️ 15 °C

    The trip started with flying from Berlin to Podgorica, the capital of the small country of Montenegro. When I landed, the day had just started and the spring sun made me start joyfully exploring the city. But first, I had to find my hostel. After checking in, leaving my luggage behind and petting the hostel dog, I made my way through town. I strolled around all day and experienced a city that is super diverse. I would see old, worn-down places next to hyper modern looking buildings. Complete wilderness was next to civilised monuments. It was interesting.
    I walked through a park and watched a wedding photo shoot where the bride looked like a princess belonging to the palace next to her. I walked into a church where yet again another couple got married and took photos. There was a lot of religion in the air, in the whole town by the way. Everywhere were bigger or smaller churches and everywhere they had little shelters outside for the candles that the believers would light for their deceased. It was calming.
    I really liked my first day in the city of contradictions.
    Read more