Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Starting earlier than planned

    May 14, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    When the email from my boss-boss came, I was hooked within seconds. Our partner AOT offered a 12-day FAM-Trip to Australia which was divided into two modules. The second one was stsrting in Cairns, going to Tasmania and ending in Perth. THAT was the shit I wanted to do! I asked my boss Christian if I could apply for one of the spots and he said "Can't be worse than a No". So I applied and it did come worse - they said Yes, you can go! Shoot, now I had to decide whether I could afford the flights to Down Under and the time. Originally, Seb and I wanted to go on a Van-Adventure to Norway with Aluna, but now that option became realistic. I had to decide within two days and God it was a lot of back and forth... But in the end, I decided to go. So I used the two weeks of Norway holiday, and packed them around the FAM-Trip as I wouldn't fly around the whole world only for 12 days. I would be gone for a whole month now... That was crazy. Especially with Aluna... But I would get a hold on this problem.
    The day to depart drew closer and closer and in the Friday before my flight, I got the bad news "The Deutsche Bahn would strike for 50h straight" and my train to Frankfurt would definitely be in that time... Shit. Thank goodness, I've got some connections with my dad. As he works for Maritim, he could get me a family-rated hotel room in Frankfurt so that I could arrive the day before. At least, I had the Rail & Fly ticket to use for the 14th,so no extra costs there. Just a lot of stress. And one day less to enjoy my dog. Damnit. I had to liv with it though, so I arranged to leave on Sunday afternoon and got everything fixed in time. And a day later, the news hit me again "The Deutsche Bahn could avoid the strike". Hell, I really do hate the DB. Why are people like that? I decided to still leave early on Sunday just to avoid more stress. So, under tears, I said goodbye to Seb and Aluna and boarded the train to Frankfurt main station. No delays whatsoever... A bit luck for me there. And then I only had to wander with my huge backpack 16min to the Maritim hotel which is situated directly next to the Congress centre of Frankfurt. Finally, I could check in and took the elevator up to the 8th floor to my room. I just wanted to drink a hot tea to calm myself down... But hey - I got disappointed again. There was no hot water kettle in the room. Amazing...
    Read more