Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Hartley's Crocodile Adventures

    May 22, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    This morning we had to check out of the Oaks' and headed straight towards Hartley's Crocodile Adventure. On the way there, the serpentine roads made me so sick again that I had to concentrate rather hard to follow the others around the zoo-like area. We saw lots of crocs again (no matter the size), as well as super interesting reptiles like komodos or venomous snakes. We could also pet a wombat called Tonka which actually has a shield underneath its fur to protect from potential predators. And for most of my folks, the taking of their photo whilst holding a koala was their highlight of the day. I must admit I'm not a big fan of zoos and especially not of using the animals to generate even more cash, so I didn't quite like that bit. However, I still took the chance, so I can't really play the devil's advocate here.
    My favourite Australian animals might actually be the crocs, just because nobody can tell them what to do, everyone pays them the respect they deserve and whoever is stupid enough to do not, becomes croc-biscuit.
    We also had the chance to go into a private sector of the park where we could directly interact with the kangaroos and wallabys. I don't know, there is something so chill about kangaroos, like they are just some random hippie dude relaxing on the beach side, checking out girls. It's so fun to watch them.
    After our tour there, we had some of the best "morning teas" ever - with savory croissants, little cucumber sandwiches, éclairs, muffins, sushi etc. And the meat-lovers could try some crocodile - it apparently tastes a bit like chicken, they said. I would much rather just stick with watching them when their alive.
    Read more