Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Flying to Launceston

    May 24, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 14 °C

    Today was a travel day. We had to leave our rooms at 6am to go to Cairns Airport and check in for our first flight to Brisbane. When waiting for the boarding, I found a beautiful headband in Aboriginal Art style and couldn't resist buying it.
    When we left Cairns, I could see dots and pieces of the Great Barrier Reef, which was really cool. Lana actually did a helicopter flight yesterday over the GBR... That must have been fantastic. Another thing for my bucket list...
    Then we had a long Layover in Brisbane, and strolling around the shops we found very funny socks and oven gloves, as well as great chocolates.
    Finally, we landed in Launceston, North of Tasmania and checked in to our hotel for tonight: Best Western Plus. To be quite frank, I don't see any plus for that hotel. Everything was looking extremely depressing being in all shades of grey. Luckily, we'd leave tomorrow morning.
    Anyway, we still had dinner to come which we had in Cateract on Paterson. It was one of the best meals so far, but I was so full from the Vietnamese summer rolls and doughnut that we ate at the airport, as well as the crisps and cake that I got on the plane (apparently, I had booked a class with $10 and $15 to spent on the bord menue), that I couldn't eat very much of it. A shame, really.
    Read more