Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Beautiful City, Disastrous Roads

    September 15, 2023 in Germany ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    After another 3hrs of sleep, the night was over and it was time to stuff our stomachs at the Maritim buffet. As I can't leave Aluna alone, I took her with me as usual. We entered the breakfast room and sat down, putting Aluna in her backpack. The people sitting next to me gave me the side-eye and I felt rather uncomfortable. When Shakhzoda and I came back from the buffet, Aluna was squirming as if she was dying. Not two seconds later, a waitress came and asked us to go to a secluded part of the restaurant as dogs weren't allowed in it and she didn't want people to complain. "It's no discrimination", she tried to convince me. I didn't think it was discriminating, I just thought that the receptionist yesterday could have told us. Anyway, now we had our own area to sit in and it was way better than the spot we had before.
    After breakfast, we packed our things, checked out and left for the town. We walked along the Danube that was much more frequented by bikes during the day, and escaped into the Rose Garden for a while. We went on to the Fisher's Village where old little houses brought you back in time. The city hall that was already looking stunning in the night, was even more beautiful in the sunlight, with all its paintings. The Ulmer Münster seemed to be just as huge as last night but now we could see much more details of the fassade. As we strolled around, Aluna got a new friend named Peanut, a young, caramel coloured poodle with which she played for about half an hour. In the mean time, I gave some proper dog advice for his owner, as we had a very nice, open chat. But we had to get on and so we decided to walk back on the other side of Danube to see some more of Neu-Ulm as well. Nothing very much to see there though.
    Finally, we arrived at our car and we're ready to start the journey further towards Bled. It was a rather tedious time on the German roads... always a stop-and-go. So, we decided to take a break at the Chiemsee. However, the Chiemsee seems to hate people and travellers, as it seemed nearly impossible for us to find not only a parking spot, but then a way to the actual lake. It took us an immense amount of time, driving around Prien am Chiemsee, until we drove outside of the city again and finally found a place where both things (parking and walking at the lake), we're possible. My nerves were completely worn out by the time and I needed the walk around the green and blue landscape. Aluna appreciated the time in nature as well. After getting ourselves a little sugar rush with some ice cream, we entered the full highway again. When we got to the border of Austria, we left at the wrong turn and found ourselves in the middle of hundreds of lorries waiting for the toll. My nerves were screaming and I really had to calm myself down. Luckily, it wasn't too bad, as I still could get the vignette at the petrol station. We carried on and had a much emptier road in front of us, as well as a stunning landscape, which made the driving experience at least a little less exhausting. We had to pay for two more tunnels an (imo) extreme high amount and finally got to the Slovenian border. I again purchased the vignette and we crossed the non-existing border to the even emptier roads of Slovenia. It took us less than an hour to arrive in Bled, just in time for the latest possible check-in. I was done for the day and could only appreciate the nice, little room, before falling asleep on the comfortable bed.
    Read more