Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    In the Capital City

    September 19, 2023 in Slovenia ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    As Maribor was such a disappointment yesterday, we wanted to visit the capital of Slovenia and see whether that was a nicer city. It was only a short drive from our apartment and so we arrived early in the city. The feeling was different from the get go. Everywhere were people (tourist groups as well), but not too many to feel crowded. The buildings were in much better shape and the whole vibe was lively and cool at the same time. We wandered around the streets, got some souvenirs for back home and some fresh grapes at the central market. They really tasted differently than in Germany. Sweeter. We found out that "You weren't really in Ljubljana when you didn't take a picture with a dragon", so I had to take a picture of me and Aluna with the dragon, although I don't like taking pictures of myself too much. Our legs were still hurting from the climb to Savica Waterfall, however, we made the steep way up to Ljubljana Castle to see the view. It wasn't that worth it though, as you couldn't see many nice old buildings from above. We wandered back down and I remembered the Lucky Wandering Stone that I've found a while back in Germany and didn't take a picture with it yet. So I did. I'd take him with me to South Africa Mauritius and Madagascar this year as well.
    Before we went back to our parking space, we found an old Roman Wall that had a pyramid just casually as its entrance. Cool! What wasn't so cool was the price I had to pay for parking 3hrs 5min in Ljubljana - 9,20€!
    Read more